Frequently asked questions

What is the Council of Europe?

The Council of Europe is the intergovernmental body that brings together 47 democratic democratic countries. It is focussed on promoting democracy and human rights.

What is the Parliamentary Assembly?

The Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe is the driving force for European co-operation, grouping 636 members (318 representatives and 318 substitutes) from the 47 national parliaments. The Assembly meets in Strasbourg four times a year, usually in January, April, June and October.

For more information see

What is the Liberal Group?

The ALDE Group is the liberal caucus in the Parliamentary Assembly. It brings together around 80 liberal members of parliament from around Europe.

Who can join the ALDE Group?

The group has individual members of parliament as its members. Although they are generally MPs from parties affiliated to such organisations as the ALDE Party and Liberal International, this is not always the case.